That old feeling

It’s hard to describe how music makes me feel. Happy, sad, nostalgic. So many mixed emotions. Certain songs often remind me of a moment in time. And sometimes of a person.

If people were songs, how would you remember them? The song ‘Guantanamera’ reminds me of my grandfather. Not only because he loved that song but because the lyrics are probably the best description of him.

The English translation would read, “ I am a truthful man; I come from where the palm tree grows, I am a truehearted man, who comes from where the palm trees grow, before I lay down my life, I long to coin the verses of my soul.”

It’s been more than a year since he passed away, and whenever the song plays on the radio, my thoughts invariably turn to the man, who was simple at heart, and longed for nothing more than the best for his family. I have no idea whether he managed to coin the verses of his soul, but his melody lingers on in our lives.

‘Blue Moon’ brings to mind thoughts of my dad. My childhood is rife with memories of him belting out the lyrics tunelessly at parties, while my poor mother would almost die of embarrassment. The lyrics “Blue moon. You knew just what I was there for. You heard me saying a pray for. Someone I really could care for.” It’s strange, but it matches his character so well. I don’t think he has a single enemy in the whole wide world. And he’s always praying. Most of all, for me, I think.

The way you look tonight’ makes me think of an ex. The lyrics blow me away. “Some day when I’m awfully low, when the world is cold. I will feel a glow, just thinking of you and the way you look tonight.” I was feeling awfully low last night. And when this song came on, I travelled back ten years, to a time when we were together. The relationship wasn’t ideal. But listening to this song, made it seem like the best time of my life. Which is actually far from reality.

There are some songs that I just can’t listen to, without shattering in a million pieces. For instance, Richard Marx’s, ‘Right here waiting’ is one of those numbers. It’s just too heartbreaking.

Music is dangerous that way. It makes you nostalgic. Reminisce about things that are best left in the past. Makes situations look rosier than they actually were. And people seem better than they are.

So, why do we love music so much? Why do we contribute to our own nostalgia by listening to the very songs that evoke those memories? Perhaps, because music is exactly that. A return ticket to those moments, that we can only relive through song.

Wish you a happy melodious Sunday!

38 thoughts on “That old feeling

  1. Oh Karen, ironic that you wrote an article on music today. It’s been a cold windy day here in Geelong, and I’ve been indoors most of the day, except for taking the little dogs for a walk. The rest of my day I’ve been writing, with lots of snack breaks.And of course I’m playing my music, non-stop since early this morning, and now listening to the 13th CD of Leonard Cohen’s in a row !! And thoroughly under the influence of his mesmerizing music and poetic words, I wrote a poem today, called “Frosted Glass”. Ah now to name my fav’ Leonard song, is nearly too hard for me, but I’m reading the words of “One Of Us Cannot Be Wrong”, so chillingly deep and profound, maybe it’s my favourite. However my most nostalgic song is Bobby Darin’s “Once Upon A Time”, I cry all the way through, for memories of Carole….. oh wow, already in tears, and its not even playing….. Music , the universal language of the world. Thankyou Karen….

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Hi Ivor. I guess everyone relates to music in one way or another. I frequently find myself moved to tears by a certain song or rhythm. I guess that’s the power of music. I like Leonard Cohen..such a deep voice. But his songs make me sad I guess. I will check out “One of us cannot be wrong.” I hope I don’t start crying :). Thanks so much for sharing. I guess making newer memories helps with the old memories to an extent. But some things definitely can’t be forgotten. Thanks for your lovely comment. Bless You.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Ivor. I guess everyone relates to music in one way or another. I frequently find myself moved to tears by a certain song or rhythm. I guess that’s the power of music. I like Leonard Cohen..such a deep voice. But his songs make me sad I guess. I will check out “One of us cannot be wrong.” I hope I don’t start crying :). Thanks so much for sharing. I guess making newer memories helps with the old memories to an extent. But some things definitely can’t be forgotten. Thanks for your lovely comment. Bless You.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful Karen, you have written what many have thought. Your memories of your grandfather are a beautiful indicator that he indeed coined the verses of his life. Thank you for sharing this wonderful post.🌹❤️

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Uh, sheeesh guys, there are new bands and new sounds emerging every day…you can enjoy the new music…with no memories attached! Sure, once in a while I’ll want a blast from the past and put on “Crosby, Still, Nash…” and reminisce about the good old days of Nixon and the Vietnam war protests…but even I spend more time looking forward than backwards! After all, all we have is the razor’s edge of now…so I try to make the most of…now…

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Hahahah. The voice of reason. This is just what I needed to snap out of it. I tend to romanticise the past too much I think. Thank you!! You are just what the doctor ordered today :). Or I was gonna listen to some more oldies tonight and have a real sob fest.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Seems the memory is always better than reality. Which is kinda what my blog is about. Kinda. Glad I prevented you from having your own pity party tonight tho! Instead of walking down memory lane, go find a new path to stroll upon. Something amazing might be waiting for you.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I am so sorry you were feeling low yesterday. I hope the music helped. I get the feeling it did and it didn’t. A kind of one track forward two tracks back approach. Your blog is so true, so poignant. I was listening to Leonard Cohen yesterday, not his old stuff, his newish songs. I was taken by You Want It Darker. Just had to play again and again. No particular reason. It just matched how empty I felt. Empty, about to be filled, as I attempted to pray.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You are so right. It helped and it didn’t. I didn’t realise this till you said it. I was listening to a whole bunch of somber stuff yesterday. Chester Bennington (btw he sounds undone in his last album), Simon & Garfunkel, Kenny Rogers and others. I will listen to You Want It Darker. I like Leonard Cohen, but his songs make me weep. I hope you feel better today. Maybe we should listen to some mindless rap, just to cheer ourselves up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh no. Not at all. I typed a long reply on your blog and it didn’t go through. Twice :(. And then I gave up. My week has started out crazy but reading your posts is on my to do list. Thank you for missing me 🙂 and God bless!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for letting me know Karen. I wish I had seen that reply very much. Because you always make such interesting comments. And they help the next person reading. Well till next time then it’s terrible how that happens

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

